Understand how we got here — and how to move forward.



Promoting Interoperability (PI) Program Toolkit

CMS overhauled the EHR Incentive Program known as Meaningful Use (MU), and renamed it the Promoting Interoperability (PI) Programs. This includes significant changes to how CMS determines whether hospitals are meaningful users of EHR technology, with a new scoring methodology and updated measure requirements (e.g., some Stage 3 MU measures were removed and wholly new measures are introduced).

PI focuses on information exchange between providers and electronic access to health information for patients. Medicare hospitals must continue to satisfy PI requirements year-over-year in order to avoid hefty penalties.

This toolkit will be updated as new resources are published, so make sure to bookmark this page for easy access.

Looking for details on ONC information blocking compliance? Check out Your information blocking toolkit.


Educate my team


Prepare for an audit


2022 resources


2021 resources


2020 resources


2019 resources


Acronym guide

API: Application Programming Interface
CAH: Critical Access Hospital
C-CDA: Consolidated-Clinical Data Architecture
CCDS: Common Clinical Data Set
CEHRT: Certified Electronic Health Record Technology
CMS: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
CQM: Clinical Quality Measure
EH: Eligible Hospital
EHR: Electronic Health Record
HIE: Health Information Exchange
IPPS: Inpatient Prospective Payment System
IQR: Inpatient Quality Reporting Program
MU: Meaningful Use
ONC: Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT
PDMP: Prescription Drug Monitoring Program
PI: Promoting Interoperability Programs

Have a Question?


Ask our experts a question on any topic in health care by visiting our member portal, AskAdvisory.